Why Jonathan Cahn is Wrong about the Shemitah Year…Sorta!

First, let me say that I am very sorry about not writing more often and updating the Sabbatical Year Template. I have uncovered a lot of information, especially more headstones from Zoar. I want to say a huge “Thank You” to Charles Reed and Rick Hebron in Washington State for doing the translations of the Hebrew texts. I would also like to thank Yiannis E. Meimaris and Kalliopi I. Kritikakou-Nikolaropoulou from National Hellenistic Research Foundation for making their invaluable research available free of charge. The overall scope of their work is “AWESOME”. Thank you.

Secondly, I want to say “Thank You” to Pastor Cahn, who has a much larger forum than I do, but you guys are smarter, for making millions of people aware of the Sabbatical or Shemitah, years. It is not my goal to denigrate Pastor Cahn’s book, “The Mystery of the Shemitah Year.” I simply want to emphasize the nature of the “true” sabbatical years and also our seven (7) responsibilities we must do, during a sabbatical year.

Rather than regurgitate what I have already covered I will refer you back to the following articles:

https://codgerville.wordpress.com/2014/08/05/why-i-was-wrong-about-americas-destiny-part-one-the-curse/

https://codgerville.wordpress.com/2014/08/05/why-i-was-wrong-about-americas-destiny-part-one-the-curse/

https://codgerville.wordpress.com/2014/09/06/why-i-was-wrong-about-americas-destiny-part-iii-the-timeline/

https://codgerville.wordpress.com/2014/09/08/blood-moons-eclipses-and-cycles/

If you have not done so, please go to Part iii – The Timeline and download the Sabbatical Year Template. This is crucial in order to under the TRUE sabbatical cycle and to see the quantity of historical proofs that I have included and I have many, many more to add as soon as I get the time. (A precious commodity in even shorter supply than gold.)

First, Pastor Cahn says that the Hebrew New Year begins on the first day of the seventh month. This is incorrect. YHWH’s New Year always, always begins on 1 Abib. (Lev. 23:5, see also Ex. 13:4, 23:15, 34:18; Deut. 16:1). It was not until the children of Israel came out of Israel @533 B.C., that they instituted the “civil New Year” something learned in Babylon and perpetuated in Judah. The idea of the civil new year is similar to talking about our fiscal new year or beginning of the school year. It is an arbitrary manmade tradition. (Lev. 18:3-4; Matt 15:3-9, Mark 7:3-13; Colossians 2:8, 22; Titus 1:14). We should never let a manmade tradition overrule a Commandment, law or statute from YHWH.

Second, Pastor Cahn uses an arbitrary date, i.e. 586 B.C. as a sabbatical year. We know that this is not true. We know that 586 B.C. is the third year of the third Sabbatical Cycle in Shavua 67. (Please refer to the sabbatical year template.) But, if we look to 2 Kings 19:29 we see a sabbatical year back to back with another sabbatical year which can only indicate a Jubilee year. We now know that this Jubilee year is the 64th Jubilee and also the First Year of Shavua 65. Why Pastor Cahn overlooked this date I do not know since it is very well established as 701 B.C. (Sabbatical year seven of the 64th Shavua) and 700 B.C. (Jubilee Year of the 65th Shavua.)

We also know that after Alexander the Great conquered the world that he went back through Jerusalem and observed the Sabbatical year being practiced. He asked about the custom and was told its origin and so he exempted Judah from taxation in 330 B.C. This was a sabbatical year. We see that in 1 Maccabees 6:49 that there was a sabbatical year and this was in 162 B.C. (The same thing is written about by Josephus in his Antiquities 12:9:5). Also, we see that 1 Maccabees 16:14, Josephus Antiquities 13:8:1 and also Josephus Jewish Wars 1:2:3 mention another sabbatical year that was 134 B.C. If you consult the timeline you will find many more proofs of sabbatical and Jubilee years.

Thirdly, Pastor Cahn is only intepreting the financial or economic aspect of the Shemitah and wrongly grasps the 6.93 financial cycle, spoken of in https://codgerville.wordpress.com/2014/09/08/blood-moons-eclipses-and-cycles/

by Rick Wiles and Dr. Steve Puetz, as the Shemitah year.

Fourthly, Pastor Cahn fails to educate the reader about their responsibilities during a sabbatical year. This is what I will endeavor to do at this time.

  1. (Lev. 25:4) You should not plow, plant your land nor prune or reap (harvest) your crops.
  2. (Lev. 25:5-7) You will eat of what grows of itself, voluntary growth.Not only that, but you must allow your animals into the fields and or gardens so that they too can eat of the voluntary growth. This includes, I have to bite my tongue here, the wild animals, like deer and rabbits and the mean plotting terrorists known affectionately, but wrongly, as squirrels.
  3. (Lev. 25:5) Do not harvest. This means that you can pick enough food that volunteers that year to eat that day but you cannot harvest all and then can, dehydrate, freeze, pickle, ferment, brine or salt for use at a future time. This is what is meant by reaping or harvesting. The gathering of a crop all at once and storing it.
  4. (Lev. 25:21-22) Stock up on food, in the sixth year, until the next harvest, in the eighth year.
  5. (Deut. 15:1-12) Forgive the debts of your brethren, follow believers not non-brethren/believers.
  6. (Deut. 15:12-18) Free those who become your slaves. The idea in Scripture is that if you work for another person you are that person’s slave. Yes, all countries used slavery at this time and there were even bond servants. Bond servants and any Hebrew slaves were supposed to be freed at this time. In this country, until 1914, you could only borrow for a home loan for a maximum of 7 years. After the Federal Reserve was created the mortgage laws changed, little by little.
  7. (Deut. 31:9-13; Neh. 8:1-18) You must publicly read the Torah during the Feast of Tabernacles, Sukkot, during the Sabbatical years.

So, are myself and my family planning to do these things? Absolutely! We have already begun making plans and preparations to increase our canning, drying and dehydrating next year. We put up several hundreds of jars of food this year in anticipation of Abib 2016. As many of you know, we harvest wild produce all spring, summer and fall and we have already planned to double this.

Now, here is why I think Pastor Cahn is correct about his analysis of what might happen in the fall of 2015. Most economic collapses, not all, but most happen in the fall. Go back and read the article on the Blood Moons and re-listen to the interview on Trunews. This could be the key.

Now here is a clue. What would be the most difficult time for you to keep the sabbatical year? How about when you, your children or grandchildren are starving to death. Why would they be starving you ask? Because the financial system has collapsed Sep-Oct. 2015) Am I predicting that it will happen at this time? NO! I am saying to be very wary and to beginning preparing for the true sabbatical year beginning in spring of 2016 NOW!

If you would, read Matthew 24:16-22. Actually, you should read the entire chapter several times and compare it to what is prophesied in Leviticus 26 that is coming to this land and compare them. But, right now I want to concentrate on Matt. 24:20. If you read this verse of scripture you will find that it does not say “on the sabbath” but what it does say is “on a sabbath.” Notice the difference? It changes the meaning from the weekly sabbath, Saturday on the Gregorian calendar to any sabbath day commanded by YHWH, which includes a sabbatical year. Now, do you see why the scripture says to “But pray ye that your flight be not in the winter, neither on A sabbath.”? If you have to flee on a sabbatical year there would have been not crops to glean on your way to the mountains. You cannot plant or harvest, so you would not have enough food to survive the entire year if you did not prepare.

If you have not read The Mystery of the Shemitah and you have a Kindle and can get it for 8 bucks that is fine. I would not pay $25.00 for the hard copy. It is written in Pastor Cahn’s usual easy to read and energetic style. Please do your own research and verify both his and my teaching so that you can be prepared for 2016.

Remember 2017 is the beginning of the Cycle of the Sword (War Cycle) according to Leviticus 26:24-26. And, then after that is the Cycle of Slavery and it is much worse than the sword.

I do not say any of this because I want to scare you. I say this because I am worried about you and your families. These teachings, Leviticus 25 & 26, are very real and very serious. If you think that since you are a New Testament Christian and this is that Old Testament then I leave you with a couple of thoughts: John 14:15, Matt 5:18, Luke 16:17, 1 John 2:3-4, 3:22-245:2-6, Rev 12:17, 14:12, 22:14.

May: YHWH bless you and guard you; YHWH make His face to shine upon you, to show favor to you; YHWH lift up His face upon you, and give you peace, Thus they shall put My Name (YHWH) on the children of Israel, and I myself shall bless them. (Numbers 6:24-27 Scriptures version 2009 Edition.

CC

31 thoughts on “Why Jonathan Cahn is Wrong about the Shemitah Year…Sorta!

  1. Interesting information.
    I’d like to observe the Sabbath year in spirit and truth without being pharicitical.

    I know how to prep by storing dried, canned, frozen foods etc.
    That’s the easy part.
    Do you think other household products that require a harvest (or have ingredients that are harvested) like paper, detergents, plant based soaps etc need to be stored for the Sabbath year?

    Meat, eggs and dairy products are allowed. How do you know they are not (at least in part) raised on grain grown in the Sabbath year?

    How does my family obtain enough fresh green vegetables to stay healthy in the Sabbath year?

    I would appreciate some guidance and ideas.

    • Hello Matilda,
      Thank you, that is a very good question and I will give you my opinion and practice. If I were to do something on the Sabbath that might cause someone else to have to work then I won’t do it. So, I have stocked up, about 3 years of things that I need and shop to replace what I have used. As we go into 2015 and beyond this will become more important. If you read my oldest articles you will see that we try to lead as independent a lifestyle as possible. I do not think that it is required to have paper, detergent and that type of stuff stocked up but we do, for many reasons. Now as far as how do we know that animals were or were not fed on grain grown during a Sabbatical year, you don’t. We keep our freezer stocked and a lot of our meat meals are already prepared and pressure canned in jars. That way, all you have to do is heat them up. You can also dehydrate meat and store it in a canning jar, with a silica gel pack, and one small oxygen absorber and it should keep well. ((We re-use the 80oz. Mt. Olive pickle jars for this and other purposes.)) If you want to put aside enough stuff of your own, I am assuming you do not have livestock and poultry hence the question, you can store eggs from the store, without refrigeration, for as long as a year. Just rub them real well with cooking oil, put them back into the cases, and once a week flip the cases upside down. The next week flip them back. This works very well. You can also store them in a crock, covered in a water/sodium silicate (called water glass) solution. This is how my grandmother preserved eggs. At a point in time hens become “spent” and quit laying and until the next generation starts laying can be as long as 4 months, depending on breed and how soon you start the next generation of layers.

      Also, if you make your own sausage, turkey/beef or chicken, you can take a pickle jar and place the cooked sausage and even boiled eggs into the jar after you eat the pickles and still have the juice and seal the jar. The sausage and eggs will keep for a year in the pickle juice. You can even add garlic and hot peppers to spice up the eggs and sausage. It can’t be beat for a quick snack. Even if you live in an apartment you can make you own sausage out of store bought turkey, chicken and/or beef. Mix the meat with a sausage seasoning, I use R.E.O., and buy the collagen casings, once again R.E.O., and then use a hand held or electric meat grinder with a stuffing attachment (I made mine out of a transmission fluid funnel that I bought at the Dollar store for a dollar) to stuff the sausage in the casing. It just takes a little practice to get the hang of the stuffing aspect of it. There are other things that you can do but read the older articles I have posted first, and if you still need help let me know.

      For some folk it will be a matter of storage space. For us, space is not a problem. If you are unsure of something, commit it to prayer. YHWH will answer those who want to be faithful.

      Matilda, let me know how much space you have to grow things and I will try to help with the green vegetables issue but for greens like kale, turnip greens, mustard greens, spinach, poke salad we can in quart jars. Von and I alone can easily knock out a quart between us. But we also freeze some of our greens. This is safer for Von because she takes coumadin and Vitamin K could potentially kill her. But if you freeze green vegetable, this destroys the vitamin K. Yes, I eat lots of carrots.

      If there is anything I can do to help, let me know.
      CC

      • Thank you for your detailed reply, CC.
        I will go back and read your older posts.
        I live on a small forested acreage – no livestock or chickens yet but a decent sized garden (about 1/4 acre) protected by an electric fence to keep the wildlife out.
        Vegetables:
        I wondered about turning part of my garden into an edible meadow – just for foraging, not harvest. I would need to start that now or very soon so it was established and not a harvest.
        After the Sabbath year, I would just simply dig it all in or leave it to evolve.
        There are lots of edible “weeds” and veges and herbs that naturalise and “volunteer” readily like potatoes, garlic and other onion family members, anything else with seeds (tomatoes, cucurbits, beans, peas).
        Amaranth is considered a weed in many crops so clearly it would be a hardy forage plant.. It’s leaves are high in protein.
        http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/vegetables-and-vegetable-products/2304/2
        I think the possibilities of God providing via an edible meadow are enndless.
        Do you think this idea is in keeping with the Sabbath year??
        Also, must I really open the gates and let the critters in? There won’t be a blade of anything left!!
        Eggs:
        I think I will start preparing in this way: http://dehydratedeggs.blogspot.com.au/2012/11/how-to-preserve-eggs-dehydrating-way.html#comment-form pending having my own chickens.
        Meat / flesh foods
        A freezer or hunting / fishing seems the way to go. Perhaps the local butcher can guarantee his meat is grass fed only. In any case, it wouldn’t hurt to go vegetarian for a couple of years. I am accumulating a stock of tinned fish.
        Dairy:
        Again, a freezer or dried milk powder. I’m not too happy about commercial dairy these days anyway. It’s all pasteurised (de-natured), and who knows what these poor intensively farmed cows are eating or being injected with.
        Fruit:
        Frozen or canned only for the Sabbath year and afterwards. My few fruit trees are only babies anyway. I am still removing their fruit to help them grow. Anyway, I think God mentions that we should not eat fruit until the ??4th or 5th year in the bible but I can’t recall where.

      • Shalom Matilda,
        One thing I forgot to mention was that I preserve a lot of green veggies by fermentation. I really enjoy homemade sauerkraut, Kim CHee and also such treats as fermented turnips and fermented green beans. These not only preserve their vitamin content but you also get the added value of the lactobacillus in your gut to fight diseases. My fermented veggies rarely last more than 60 days but that is because I eat too much of them. (I eat 2 gallons of Kim Chee alone, each month.) Check the internet for a fermented salad recipe. My notes and cook books are at the other house and I don’t have them at hand right now but I am sure you can find it. It was taught to me by a Japanese friend of mine but I think she learned it from a Korean or Chinese. I have been told that you can ferment beets but i can almost all that I have at any one time and then eat the rest so I don’t know this for sure but I do know that you can ferment cucumber pickles instead of using vinegar. Look on the internet for some of these recipes and then do like I do and experiment. There is a young lady at http://www.maangchi.com (I think that is right) who has a good recipe for Kim Chee. I have modified it many times over and you should check her site for the original recipe and then go from there. (Of coure, leave out the squid.)

        Sorry I forgot. Hope this might help a little
        Yah bless.
        CC

  2. I was just introduced to your blog this morning, and I am going through and reading your various blogs about America’s destiny, etc. I also read your blog about Cahn being wrong. I appreciate the time you’ve spent studying, and I plan on studying the information you’ve provided. I’m not here to argue or confront. I am just a Christian seeking truth. Personally, I feel like God revealed certain things to me about the church that I need to share at some point, for the same reasons that you feel compelled to share. I don’t want other’s blood on my hands. A couple of questions I have is just to find out some personal information about you if you’re willing to share, and if you want to send it to me via email, that is fine. What exactly is your faith? Are you a christian (I assume so)? Are you a Messianic Jew? You may have already answered some of this in other blogs that I simply haven’t seen. Again, I was just introduced to you this morning. I think mainly, I am trying to come to terms with the line between legalism and licentiousness (lawlessness). I was raised to believe in the finished work of Christ, faith by grace, etc. I realize the New Testament is full of warnings regarding licentiousness. But I also know Christ fulfilled the Law. I saw that you provided some different versus for Christians who believe the OT does not apply. I would tell you that I’m not one of those, but I am trying, again, to understand where that line is. For example, we cannot practice the Feasts as prescribed in the OT, and Colossians tells us to not be judged according to New Moons, Festivals, Feasts, etc. I have to learn this stuff for my own heart, and then be able to speak intelligently to it for the sake of others. Yes, Jesus was the final sacrifice, and I know that no jot or tittle of the Law will pass away. I hope I’m making sense. Thanks for your time.

    • Hello Thomas,
      You have some good questions and observations. I’ll start with my background: I am Vietnam veteran, worked for NSA for 8 years, did a short stint with the State Department, CIA all in the seventies and early 80’s. I worked for a DOE contractor on the Superconducting Super Collider in the 90’s. Was a consultant to Tyler Refrigeration, Carrier, GTE and others. I have a bachelor’s in linguistics and agriculture, a master’s in history and a Ph. D. in Theology and a Doctor of Divinity.

      Am I a Christian? Yes but i do not worship on Sunday but rather keep the Sabbath. Once you understand the mystery of the Sabbath (or Shabbat) then a lot of the mysteries in the Scriptures just make common sense. I consider myself a Berean and I don’t mean a Berean Baptist, just Berean.

      Jesus, Yeshua, was the Goal of the law not the fulfilment as in THE END. Not only did HE tell people to keep the Torah but HE also expounded on it, case in point, the Sermon on the Mount, Matthew 5. People are quick to point that Yeshua only gave two commandments. Let’s look at those two, (Matthew 22:37-40) The first great commandment is to love the Father with all your heart soul and mind. If you do that you will be keeping the first 4 of the 10 commandments. The second commandment is to love thy neighbor as thyself and if you do that you will be keeping the last 6 of the 10 commandments. So Yeshua did not give us a new commandment at all.

      Now why would Paul, Sha’ul, say let no man judge you in keeping New Moons, festivals or Sabbaths? (Col. 2:16) It is the same problem we face today if we keep those. we will be ridiculed and reviled, just as they were in Collosus. But read verse 17, it tells you that these things are a type and shadow of things to come,, the body of the Messiah, (Mashiach). He is not saying don’t keep them but don’t let yourself be, or feel, judged by keeping them.

      Thomas, I think the confusion comes in when people think that being a Christian is different than being an Israelite, but it is not. Paul goes out of his way to address this in Romans 11. If we are believers in Jesus Christ, Yeshua HaMashiach, we are now grafted into Israel. The whole book of Romans is an exhortation to keep the Law (Torah) but people point to it as a condemnation of the Law. How is that? Most people do not understand Paul’s writing style, which is rhetorical. (Read 2 Peter 3:15-16). Do you see Peter’s warning? Even then people were twisting what Paul wrote to mean something other than what Yeshua taught. Look at Acts 15:19-21. This is James the half-brother of Yeshua, Jesus, speaking. He told them to abstain from strangled meats, blood, idols, immoral actions. He also remind them that Moses, Torah, has been read on the Sabbath, Shabbat, since ancient times. Look how many times Paul hurried back to Jerusalem so that he could keep the feast. Was he saying one thing and doing another? No! He continued to keep the feasts and as often as possible returned to Jerusalem to observe them as it states in the Torah.

      One thing that might help, and I should have mentioned it in an article but didn’t, my bad, you might want to get a better translation of the Bible. Most “NEW” translations are not translations at all. They are simply rewordings that put English in a more easily read, modern language. And as far as the NIV I always tell people that stands for Never Inspired Version. I tries to do away with the workings of the Holy Spirit, Ruach HaKodesh. I recommend 2009 edition of “The Scriptures” by the Institute for Scripture Research. I also recomment a Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance and look up everything. Look up Jesus’ name and you will see His real name, Yehoshua, and Jesus was the best the Greeks could do. You can look in the front of most King James Bibles and they will give you “God’s” real name YHWH. If we know His real name, why do we use them and teach our children to use them?

      Look in the about section and you will find my email if you would like to correspond at any time in the future. Hope this helps.
      May Yah bless you and yours.
      CC

      • You guys are keeping me on my toes today. But yes, I do consider you as my brother and feel that we are very closely aligned in our faith.
        Shalom,
        CC

      • Thank you CC and Charles.

        I am a Christian as well, raised in the faith since a child. What that means to me now is that I’ve been bathed in the great delusion since I was a child; the wide road. I was raised mainly as a Lutheran, and then a Baptist, and attended an A/G Bible School. I eventually migrated to the non-denominational denomination, and spent some time in the Vineyard. All that to say that now I have no title, so I’ll say I consider myself a Berean as well.

        Briefly about me, I love Yahweh and Yeshua as much as I know how, but know that I fall so short. I’m not as well in tune with using the terms YHVH or Yeshua yet, but want to get there. My heart longs for the straight way. I know we’re off track (in the church). My Bachelor’s is in Communications, my Masters is in EH&S (my day time job), and I am currently working on my PhD in Industrial / Organizational Psychology. I’ve been licensed as a minister twice, and have done everything in the organization known as the church from cleaning the toilets and cutting the grass, to preaching and teaching. I did the 3 services a week gig for years, serving in every ministry under the sun. But I stepped out of all that about 5-6 years ago and have been struggling with what to do ever since. Not that I have to “do” anything, per se, but I want to please YAH and be focusing my resources where He wants me to focus. I do have a family; wife, 3-year old son, and 19-month old daughter. I want to lead them in the right direction.

        I have read the Harbinger and currently have Cahn’s latest book on the Shmitah, but haven’t finished it. Lately my focus has been on the Feasts and on how we (the people I know) know so little about them, but we’re deluged in, and celebrate, pagan holidays and traditions of men, making the Word of no effect.

        I do have a Strong’s and a Vine’s and the other Hebrew and Greek Lexicons of which I can’t remember the names. But in those rare moments now when I do study, I always go back to the Hebrew and/or Greek. I will get the Scriptures that you speak of. I generally read the NKJV, but study based on the KJV because that’s what Strong’s is coded to. But I have struggled for years with the idea of various “versions” of scripture, because regardless of what version you read in English, so much is missed in the translation.

        My wife and I currently aren’t on the same page with all of this, and I think it scares her a bit, to be fair. So I covet your prayers in that area. In other news, I’ve been a prepping Christian since 2009.

        I need to go through Romans again. I was recently looking at the scripture in Matthew where Christ said He came to fulfill the Law and not to abolish it, and that it would never pass away. All that to say that I’m probably a lot more on board with much that you’ve written than it may appear. Again, I personally am trying to work with finding that place of grace that exists between legalism and licentiousness (2 Peter, Ch 2.).

        I treasure this site because of the wisdom here and the like-mindedness. That has been part of this struggle. If we are the remnant (no arrogance intended) and God is showing us the way, it is a very isolated path, at least from my position.

        Lastly, and just to add to the discussion, what YAH led me in about 26-27 years ago was seeing that the division in the church is not from Him – a house divided against itself will fall. That led to a long path of study that eventually concluded in understanding that the organization we know as the Church is the Great Harlot Babylon, and that the true believers need to come out of her. That we have abrogated the dunamis of the Holy Spirit and we only have a form of Godliness. Basically, YAH led me to understand that the majority of His people were/are in idolatry, and it’s as you say. Even if it’s the issue of not keeping the Sabbath, then that is idolatry. Also, as you have described, I understand the division of the commandments and how they apply, the first four to God, and the last six to relationships (Love God, then love your neighbor). I also have Josephus and Philo, and love the insight they give into many issues. YAH tells His people to come out of the great harlot. I just haven’t known how to go about the coming out part for a while. Hope I didn’t step on any toes, but that is where I believe YAH has led me through years of study. I felt compelled to write a book on the subject, even as you felt compelled to write the 3 blogs to sound the alarm. But I haven’t finished it yet, and haven’t worked on it in a very long time. I don’t know where He is leading with that, but it’s something that I believe YAH gave me and it’s what I have to offer to the conversation.

        Thank you both for your replies, and I’ll probably use that email address from time to time.

        I am thankful that I have been led to this site.

        Respectful regards,

        Tom Dahl

    • Thomas, your questions are very relevant to what CC is discussing here. I will speak for myself, but I am confident that CC and I are very much on the same page with one another. I came to the point that I am at in my faith by setting aside commentary and Christian traditions and reading Scripture and only Scripture instead, Using scripture to interpret and reveal scripture. Always in context of the whole Word, and in the context of the culture of Yeshua, and the Hebrew mindset as opposed to the Greek mindset. Trust that YHVH has not changed, and read His word in light of that. “Yeshua HaMashiach, the same yesterday, and today, and forever.” Hebrews 13:8 Our Creator has established order and patterns to reveal Himself to us. Among these are the sun, moon and stars… and he established His Sabbaths as a sign to reveal His way to us. “But as for you, speak to the sons of Israel, saying, ‘You shall surely observe My Sabbaths; for this is a sign between Me and you throughout your generations, that you may know that I am the Lord who sanctifies you”. Exodus 31:13. The Sabbaths are a sign. These are not only the weekly 7 day Sabbath, but all of the Shmitah… these are an eternal ordinances that apply to all seeking to follow YHVH and express our love of Him through obedience to His word. I encourage you to proceed, and begin to see His light, and how truly awesome our God is, and how gracious He is to us, providing all that we need and most important of all, the provision He has made for our Salvation through the shed blood of Messiah Yeshua… this is but a broad over view. The Truth is in the details, and the details are a wonderful journey with Him.

      • so… to one of your specific questions, I do not consider myself to be a Christian, or a Messianic Jew… just a seeker of “The Way”.

    • Hi Tom,
      One of my favorite Greek words found in the renewed covenant, “dunamis” the word from which Alfred Nobel derived the word dynamite. Your use of remnant is not arrogance, but fact. Feel free to contact me via email that is fine and let me know what i can do to help.
      Shalom,
      CC

  3. I don’t have any of your qualifications but I do love studying the meaning of the Feasts.
    I think it’s interesting that people think God’s holy days were done away with when they have not yet all been fulfilled.
    Good on you for your work, guys.

      • Yes, the qualifications can be left at the door.
        However, you folks have used your talents well and not sqandered them.
        I pray that in due course you will hear our Lord say “well done thou good and faithful servant”.
        Keep up the good work.
        I have only just found your blog by searching on Shemitah.
        I’m glad to have found it.

  4. One of the most troubling things I see with the way Cahn (and others) interpret Scripture is that he constantly applies laws that were given to ISRAEL only to the rest of the world.

    Jesus fulfilled EVERY law. The ceremonial laws that God gave Israel were for Israel and for a time PRIOR to the birth, life, death, and resurrection of Jesus, the Messiah.

    To say that America for instance is part of the process of judgment because this country somehow follows in the steps of Israel is anti-biblical. God fully created Israel for the purpose of being a light to the nations. That “light” ultimately came in the form of Jesus.

    Though America was founded upon biblical principles, it does not mean that God created America. Certainly, He allowed its creation, but to say that America was created for a special purpose (like Israel was) is simply wrong, in my opinion.

    Will/Is America going to be judged? Certainly, just like every other nation will be judged (at the Sheep and the Goats judgment). Judgement will overtake the entire world, which is why the Bible specifically points to the coming time of God’s wrath poured out onto the entire world (known as the Tribulation).

    Israel doesn’t even follow the ceremonial laws anymore and because their sacrificial system is not up and running, they can’t even do that. Yet, Cahn and others would have us believe – based on one or two verses of Scripture totally ripped from their context – that the only way to “save” America is to understand and apply ceremonial and religious policies that were given solely to Israel? I don’t see that in Scripture and it’s really a form of theology that transfers the rights, privileges, and blessings to the Church leaving only curses for Israel.

    I also find it fascinating that Jonathan Cahn and his book publisher were gearing up to SUE another Christian because of a book that was published which critiqued “The Harbinger.” The reason for the lawsuit? Loss of sales. As soon as the public got wind of the impending lawsuit, it was dropped.

    There are too many fraudulent aspects of both The Harbinger and The Shemitah and I have (and have read) both books.

    If more people would spend more time in God’s Word, it would be amazing how strong, committed, and directed Christians would be. Instead, too many chase after people who simply teach bad theology. It’s a shame.

  5. I will follow on eof the posting. M. Cahn, and others have make the mistake with or without reason to think USA are Canaan!
    The Torah is clear on the subject:
    (Lev 25:1 [KJV])
    And the LORD spake unto Moses in mount Sinai, saying,

    (Lev 25:2 [KJV])
    Speak unto the children of Israel, and say unto them, WHEN YOU COME INTO THE LAND WHICH I GIVE YOU ( THE CHILDREN OF YSRAEL), then shall the land keep a sabbath unto the YHWH.

    (Lev 25:3 [KJV])
    Six years thou shalt sow thy field, and six years thou shalt prune thy vineyard, and gather in the fruit thereof;

    (Lev 25:4 [KJV])
    But in the seventh year shall be a sabbath of rest unto the land, a sabbath for YHWH: thou shalt neither sow thy field, nor prune thy vineyard.

    (Lev 25:5 [KJV])
    That which groweth of its own accord of thy harvest thou shalt not reap, neither gather the grapes of thy vine undressed: for it is a year of rest unto the land.

    (Lev 25:6 [KJV])
    And the sabbath of the land shall be meat for you; for thee, and for thy servant, and for thy maid, and for thy hired servant, and for thy stranger that sojourneth with thee,

    (Lev 25:7 [KJV])
    And for thy cattle, and for the beast that are in thy land, shall all the increase thereof be meat.

    (Lev 25:8 [KJV])
    And thou shalt number seven sabbaths of years unto thee, seven times seven years; and the space of the seven sabbaths of years shall be unto thee forty and nine years.

    (Lev 25:9 [KJV])
    Then shalt thou cause the trumpet of the jubile to sound on the tenth day of the seventh month, in the day of atonement shall ye make the trumpet sound throughout all your land.

    (Lev 25:10 [KJV])
    And ye shall hallow the fiftieth year, and proclaim liberty throughout all the land unto all the inhabitants thereof: it shall be a jubile unto you; and ye shall return every man unto his possession, and ye shall return every man unto his family.

    (Lev 25:11 [KJV])
    A jubile shall that fiftieth year be unto you: ye shall not sow, neither reap that which groweth of itself in it, nor gather the grapes in it of thy vine undressed.

    (Lev 25:12 [KJV])
    For it is the jubile; it shall be holy unto you: ye shall eat the increase thereof out of the field.

    (Lev 25:13 [KJV])
    In the year of this jubile ye shall return every man unto his possession.

    Nowhere in the scriptures it is written: “when you are in exile you shall keep what you wre not willing to keep in the land I gave to you”.
    BUT W READ:
    (Lev 26:27 [NRKJV])
    And if ye will not for all this hearken unto me, but walk contrary unto me;

    (Lev 26:28 [NRKJV])
    Then I will walk contrary unto you also in fury; and I, even I, will chastise you seven times for your sins.

    (Lev 26:29 [NRKJV])
    And ye shall eat the flesh of your sons, and the flesh of your daughters shall ye eat.

    (Lev 26:30 [NRKJV])
    And I will destroy your high places, and cut down your images, and cast your carcases upon the carcases of your idols, and my soul shall abhor you.

    (Lev 26:31 [NRKJV])
    And I will make your cities waste, and bring your sanctuaries unto desolation, and I will not smell the savour of your sweet odours.

    (Lev 26:32 [NRKJV])
    And I will bring the land into desolation: and your enemies which dwell therein shall be astonished at it.

    (Lev 26:33 [NRKJV])
    And I will scatter you among the heathen, and will draw out a sword after you: and your land shall be desolate, and your cities waste.

    (Lev 26:34 [NRKJV])
    Then shall the land enjoy her Sabbaths, as long as it lieth desolate, and ye be in your enemies’ land; even then shall the land rest, and enjoy her Sabbaths.

    (Lev 26:35 [NRKJV])
    As long as it lieth desolate it shall rest; because it did not rest in your Sabbaths, when ye dwelt upon it.

    (Lev 26:36 [NRKJV])
    And upon them that are left alive of you I will send a faintness into their hearts in the lands of their enemies; and the sound of a shaken leaf shall chase them; and they shall flee, as fleeing from a sword; and they shall fall when none pursueth.

    (Lev 26:37 [NRKJV])
    And they shall fall one upon another, as it were before a sword, when none pursueth: and ye shall have no power to stand before your enemies.

    (Lev 26:38 [NRKJV])
    And ye shall perish among the heathen, and the land of your enemies shall eat you up.

    (Lev 26:39 [NRKJV])
    And they that are left of you shall pine away in their iniquity in your enemies’ lands; and also in the iniquities of their fathers shall they pine away with them.

    (Lev 26:40 [NRKJV])
    If they shall confess their iniquity, and the iniquity of their fathers, with their trespass which they trespassed against me, and that also they have walked contrary unto me;

    (Lev 26:41 [NRKJV])
    And that I also have walked contrary unto them, and have brought them into the land of their enemies; if then their uncircumcised hearts be humbled, and they then accept of the punishment of their iniquity:

    (Lev 26:42 [NRKJV])
    Then will I remember my covenant with Jacob, and also my covenant with Isaac, and also my covenant with Abraham will I remember; and I will remember the land.

    (Lev 26:43 [NRKJV])
    The land also shall be left of them, and shall enjoy her Sabbaths, while she lieth desolate without them: and they shall accept of the punishment of their iniquity: because, even because they despised my judgments, and because their soul abhorred my statutes.

    (Lev 26:44 [NRKJV])
    And yet for all that, when they be in the land of their enemies, I will not cast them away, neither will I abhor them, to destroy them utterly, and to break my covenant with them: for I am יהוה their Elohim.

    (Lev 26:45 [NRKJV])
    But I will for their sakes remember the covenant of their ancestors, whom I brought forth out of the land of Egypt in the sight of the heathen, that I might be their Elohim: I am יהוה.

    (Lev 26:46 [NRKJV])
    These are the statutes and judgments and laws, which יהוה made between him and the children of Israel in mount Sinai by the hand of Moses.

    Yovel year in prophecy is a way to track time. Here again YHWH do not use the pagan roman calendar and its fake shabbats (saturday). It has nevver be so in the TaNaHk.

    • Shalom,
      Thank you for your feedback. So many people “talk” about the sabbatical year but are not prepared to be faithful to Yah’s Word. Nobody wants to make that sacrifice when it isn’t a sacrifice but a blessing.
      CC

  6. Reblogged this on Christeraxe's Blog and commented:
    Great info with the coming of possible US dollar currency collapse and
    the Shemitah at our doorstep. Start planning now for a hard time in keeping your family feed and in good spirits. The Pope comes to the White House to speak with the President and address the nation as a whole at the same time. What is in store for the Sept. 23, 1915 date? We do not really know, yet have a pretty good idea. There is talk that the Pope will announce the reality of Alien life among us which will cause some panic and result in the need for military police to rule in some cities. This would also bring on a perfect time to realize and suggest the new World Order in the higher ups and allow the US financial collapse of the dollar to start a New world currency and bring in the planned agenda.
    Those citizens who would resist the realities of the world life species or the fall of the economy as they know it, would panic and have to be dealt with within the new Dept. of Homeland Security. FEMA restraining camps are set up now for such an uprising. Or, of course the same type of resistance and panic if an asteroid where to be coming in to hit the Atlantic or the new specie introduction be introduced to the world, all would cause people to go off on the government and their neighbor. Prepare now to hunker in and keep a hidden store of supplies for you and your family throughout 2016. War may breakout in 2017 as written below and things get worse. One should realize that the country and the world order was not going to get any better with time as we enter into a new techilogical way of everyday life. A wide gap now in personal well being is known across the United States where the poor are dependent on government handouts and the rich take advantage of loop holes to buy up private stores of gold and silver. Metals and property holdings may help you through these times of woe. It has been written on the wall of our country for a long time and for all to see.
    Go now and buy what you can, keep what you can and sell what you can. The way things are, are not the way things could possibly remain. Believe in the Lord for more than your government. Believe in yourself to maintain a sanity for you and your loved ones to leave this country or hunker down and see what is in store for us all and what his holiness the Pope is about to lay on us regarding our futures, realizations or the times at hand to work together.
    Regarding guns and ammo: The DHS has ordered another second purchase of a billion live ammo for the common government issue rifle. Why? I see no reason to supply our Homeland Security guardians with live ammo of that stockpile unless it was to fight off an attack on our own soil against another nation. Or is it that they must be willing to protect the institutions that make up our country and the laws that must be adhered to at this time of trouble. All I do know is that if you are a gun collector, hunter, marksman, enthusiast, or rifleman… keep them and do not use them, or they will be taken away. The second Bill of Rights allows guns and ammo to protect yourself from Government tyranny, so use only if threatened. You cannot win against such an informed strategic armed forces as the USA would put into action when worse comes to worse. Use it and lose it. Protect but do not threat. The sound control and spy tech that is available to them today is far too superior for anyone to take on a position withing your own neighborhood against any martial rulings.
    Best wishes to all. Now let’s see what the country position is after the Papal visit and arrival of the Shemitah within our financial Wall Street.

    christeraxe
    7-30-15

  7. Pingback: Shemitah and Sept. 23 Papal Visit | Christeraxe's Blog

  8. I say congradulations are do, you nailed it. You are 100% correct and let me help clarify how his claim is actually the false jubilee. I see how there must first be a false jubulee and you saw it coming, great call. How can I be so sure, it’s because I saw the teacher’s answer sheet, as strange as that sounds, and 5777 is the true start of the Jubilee, just as you claimed. Bear with me two minutes and I will provide for you one piece of evidence in support (and I have piles of it).

    Did you know the blessed day is code for the wedding day, a code for Sukkot? So then, who do you think the blessed are? I believe we are, if we are the bride and are blessed to make it to that day. Knowing the blessed day is Sukkot is important in recognizing where the 1260, 1290 and 1335 day prophesy happens on our current calendar. When we look at the text of Daniel 12:12 we find it’s confusing because of a translation error that most Bible versions translate as 1335 days, but that is not actually what it says, the authorized version writes, “Blessed is he that waiteth, and cometh to the thousand three hundred and five and thirty days,”

    Do you see it? My digging suggests these are two different time periods, 1305 days and 30 days, not 1335 days. It was probably for the sake of simplicity that modern translators took the liberty of adding the two figures together so we most often see 1335, but they were separated for a reason and the meaning is better understood when they are left as they are. It seems 1335/ 1290 days is actually the method by which the lunar calendar (used to) synchronize with our solar one, a repeating formula relating to the Sabbatic calendar system. These have baffled students for years with commentaries calling them unknown calculations, with popular end-time writers dreaming up fanciful ideas as to what they might mean.

    We find 1335 does not belongs here, not according to the original text, here’s what the literal text says …three (shalowsh) hundred (me’ah) and five (chamesh) and thirty (shĕlowshiym). It appears 1305 and 1290 are the correct astronomical calculations used by the prophets to synchronize the biblical calendar with the solar cycle. The solar calendar has 365.24 days and the lunar calendar has 354.14 days however the prophets used a 360-day calendar (30-day month) and adjusted it to the solar cycle by means of 30/45 day leap year system.

    As you may know every calendar, except the Hijri, has leap systems, the western calendar adds one day every four years in February, the modern Jewish calendar adds a month (AdarII) every 3 years, however the ancient Hebrew soli-lunar calendar was not the same as the modern Jewish soli-lunar system. It is not known exactly when the change took place, some say it was during the Babylonian captivity that the ancient system was lost to Israel, but the prophets retained knowledge of it, it may actually have had twelve 30-day months, with modern soli-lunar systems toggling between 29 and 30, so the old system does not require as many extra Adars. Nevertheless, it does fall short of the solar dates, so a 30/ 45 day adjustment was made on the Sabbath years.

    I suspect the 1305 clue which Daniel gives us was meant for those who understand Yah’s ways, that is, for people who know how the prophet’s calendar system worked and know that the blessed day is Sukkot. Knowing the blessed day is our wedding day and that it is actually 1305 days from the mid-point of the tribulation, are huge clues that people studying calendars have been missing, the clues necessary to find what I think is the exact starting date of the tribulation’s time period. By identifying the mistaken translation above and researching it, that it’s really 1,305 days and not 1,335 days, we find it matches a pattern on our current calendar.

    It appears we are in the tribulation period today and this seven year time period ends on a Friday, at sunset, part of a larger calendar sequence completing the sixth day. If we are calculating the adjustment of 45 days as Sukkot and subtracting 1305 days, then the other 1260, we discover that it not only ends on a Friday, but that it also started on a Friday at sunset. Would it surprise you to learn this was the date the son of perdition came in peacefully, October 9, 2009? My favorite clue given by Daniel. This date matches up tightly with the final day of the Sukkot in 2009, which went from sunset 10/8/09 to sunset 10/9/09. I believe that date was the end of another age of prophesy, wrapping up a 2,730 year judgment. This means March 22, 2013 was the exact midst of the week and that September 2, 2016 will be the final day of the tribulation period.

    Still with me, amazing, I don’t think this date is technically the end of 6,000 years without that 45 day calendar adjustment and we know that within that last 45 day period a whole bunch of crazy stuff happens, like some big time wrath, Trumpets, Atonement, etc… then from sunset 10/16/16 to sunset 10/17/16 we will finally have the first day of Sukkot (our blessed day). Most interesting to me is that within that same 45 day adjustment period there will be another 30 day period that is specifically pointed out. This period is squeezed tightly in between the end of tribulation and the start of the Feast of Trumpets, going up to October 2, 2016, with Trumpets scheduled to be from sunset 10/2/16 to sunset 10/3/16.

    In my opinion the tribulation timeline follows the son of perdition’s part in this marvelous play, so he’s really our calendar cypher to identify where exactly we are on YHWH’s masterful itinerary. That’s probably why he is made so obvious for us in scripture. I mean, the prophets gave us a lot on him, I got piles of stuff here on him so if you can’t see who it is by now you may need some prayer help. I mean, it seems like some people have a veil over their eyes to the obvious, which reminds me how the King of Righteousness’ returning will be when most of us are sound asleep.

    Again, congrats, you hit the ball out of the park in my opinion, that will be proven out soon enough. Thank you for your posting.

    Guy with no last name

  9. I am a lecturer in empirical research methods at a Christian university, and have written a comprehensive empirical and statistical evaluation of Cahn’s hypothesis, using GDP and stock market data, in order to verify or rebut his claims. The report can be downloaded at https://www.dropbox.com/s/tl40tsanm6i5aaf/Cahn%20shemitah%20research%20report.pdf?dl=0.

    It shows that Cahn’s Shemitah book is highly selective in the way it presents economic data, conceals contradictory evidence, and fails to live up to academic standards. Statistical testing shows that GDP and stock market data fail to reveal any kind of Shemitah pattern or mechanism.

  10. Pingback: Prepping for the Sabbatical Year: As if you needed one more reason to prep. | Codgerville (Home of the Country Codger)

  11. Pingback: Are War and Slavery Coming to America? | Codgerville (Home of the Country Codger)

Leave a Reply

