10 Tips For When The Shooting Starts!

Note: I began writing this article before the Boston Marathon bombing. I have been extremely busy for the last 6 or 8 months and have had little time to write. Some of these tips may seem common sense and others may seem frivolous. I have a reason for each and every one of them.

All of you who have read my articles over the last couple of years know that I do not advocate violence. By choosing to live in remote parts of the U.S. I am a “live and let live” kind of guy. Leave me alone and I’m your best neighbor. Treat me bad and you have a problem, me. As Chris Duane has said, “there are two types of people in the world, those that want to be left alone and those that won’t leave you alone.” Unfortunately, our government falls into the latter category.

I have been and will continue to be an advocate for the independent lifestyle. Most of my articles are trying to empower each and everyone who wants to learn to be beholden to no one. Unfortunately, if you are independent you are an itch in the center of the back, between the shoulder blades where it is hardest to reach, of this current government. If you are independent you are dangerous because you don’t need the government. Just look at one of the most common groups the government has been harassing the most lately, my Amish brethern.

A quick lesson. The Amish, Mennonites and Hutterites are pacifist, much like the Quakers. In the 16th century, when the Duke of Savoy was authorized by the Pope to kill all Anabaptists, our brethern the Amish, Hutterites and Mennonites fled to avoid conflict. My ancestors chose to fight and ultimately defeated the good Duke and his Army. Because our ancestors fought, our brethern called them Swearingen, which means “swordbearer”. If you look at an Amishman’s beard you will see that they wear no mustache. The mustache, in ancient times, was a symbol of “captaincy” or in other words warlike. We, on the other hand, wear a beard with a mustache. I say all this to emphasize that the Amish, Mennonites and Hutterites are peaceful people content to live an independent lifestyle, separate from the rest of the world. Unfortunately, the government won’t allow them to live in peace.

Having said all that let me tackle the subject at hand; what happens when the shooting starts? ((Please read or re-read the 10 tips that I give in Achieving True Independence Part II here:https://codgerville.wordpress.com/2011/12/14/achieving-true-independence-part-ii/

We are from the government and we are here to help you.

We are from the government and we are here to help you.

1. First and foremost, DON’T LOSE YOUR HEAD! I know this sounds crazy but it is a necessity. Ask anyone who has been in a gun fight, firefight or whatever today’s terminology is for the same event. If you loose you head, panic, freak out, whatever, you are a danger not only yourself but everyone around you. That is why you are drilled, drilled and drilled again in the military so you will not panic when the time comes.

  • When you panic you could injure yourself or one of your team members, i.e. panic fire can kill a friend or family member because you did not stay calm and insure that your target is indeed the enemy.
  • You could endanger your team/group by giving away your position/refuge/hideout by shooting before you should have or even in severe panic, cry, scream or whimper. Won’t happen to you? Wanna bet? Prepare your mind so that you will be mentally ready when the shooting starts.
  • By panicking you could miss the shot that would have saved one of your family/team members.
  • Stress causes temporary memory loss. You can literally forget what to do, when and where.
  • Remember what Bill Jordan said many years ago, “There are no second place winners in a gunfight.” Being the fastest gun on the block doesn’t mean that you will win a fight if you loose your wits. Stay as calm as possible and stay focused.

2. When the shooting starts it is too late to go buy a weapon and/or ammunition. Although the topic is different, there is an excellent object lesson on this type of thing found in the Bible. (Matthew 25:1-12) In other words, “Always be prepared!”

  • The rifle/handgun/shotgun of your dreams may not be available but buy a firearm and ammunition. (Here in my part of Texas/Louisiana/New Mexico you can still find .30-06, 7.62 x 54R, 30-30, 7mm Magnum, .300 Win. mag. 
  • The old maxim of a gunfight, “Never bring a knife to a gunfight,” still applies.

3. It is too late to go to the range to site in your weapon. Your weapon should be re-zero’d monthly. It only takes one bullet. (Shooting is only killing if you hit your target!)

4. Know where you stand. Make sure that you are on the “moral high ground”, i.e., defending the Constitution, family, faith and/or self. I cannot stress this one thing enough. Your cause must be moral and it must be just.

5. A shot fired in haste is a shot fired in waste. Make sure of your target(s). ((When the shooting stops and it is all clear, go and take their weapons and ammo.))

6. Before you squeeze the trigger make sure that you are prepared for the consequences and the repercussions. (Example: A consequence of you pulling the trigger will be that the full weight of the law, read government, will come crashing down on you and everyone you love. An example of a repercussion is: Even though justified, the killing of another human being, is hard to deal with in your mind and/or emotions. Be prepared for the emotional struggle that will follow when the shooting stops.)

7. Your family and loved ones should already know what to do in the event that the shooting starts, i.e. have rally points in case you are separated, if you have positioned food, water, guns, ammo ahead of time in caches make sure your loved ones know how and where to find what they need to survive.

8. When you squeeze the trigger you are taking a human life not the life of the government that sent them. Never dehumanize your adversary by counting notches or keeping score. You can only justify the death(s) once the goal is accomplished. The government is a faceless entity but the individual who will kick in your door is not. They may be young and married, with a baby on the way. They may be blonde and blue-eyed or it may be black with auburn hair or be a red-headed freckle-faced kid from Heartland, USA.((This is a very important thing to remember and it can come back to bite you in the butt many years to come. Most societies have a warrior code. The American Indian code was very good about recognizing your enemy as a strong and powerful enemy. This makes your victory sweeter and helps you to respect your enemy. It doesn’t seem like much but 30 years after you squeeze the trigger it will help a great deal.))

9. Be willing to die for your cause but try not to. I do not advocate strapping a bomb on your chest and seeking 70 virgins in the afterlife. In the words of General George Smith Patton “No poor dumb son-of-a-bitch ever won a war by dying for his country. He won the war by making the other poor dumb son-of-a-bitch die for his country.”

10. Be reluctant to start the shooting but be ready to end it. The senseless spilling of innocent blood should not be on your hands. Let someone else be the person who fired the first shot. I do not mean that if the bad guys are coming for you that you should wait until they shoot at you. Determine hostile intent first, before shooting.

As I write this article I am reminded of what I have witnessed in 4 other nations that were ravaged by war. We must never give up on peace but we should never compromise our beliefs in order to achieve peace. It really grieves me that I should even see a need for such an article, but I do. These ten things will not make you a Navy Seal, Force Recon, Green Beret or Rambo. That is not the purpose. But if you use these tips then this article will help prepare you for what I believe is inevitable.

Hope and pray for peace but be prepared to defend yourself, your family and/or your faith.

Boot-throat-government-cartoon

12 thoughts on “10 Tips For When The Shooting Starts!

    • Hi mtpatriot,
      I will try to knock out a couple of articles while I am in between trips. I want to address a growing trend that can be very dangerous in my next article. Good luck and God bless.
      CC.

  1. Extremely good to hear from you! Sound advice, as expected. Regrettably, I am in a city sandwiched between Boston and Watertown where martial law reared it’s ugly head. It was disgusting to see how my fellow Americans were treated, but even more disappointing to see how they responded (or not). Fortunately, the masses are waking up a lot faster than I think has been anticipated. Keep your head’s up, my friends…

      • Yep, I hear you… Have my “spot” in the “live free or die” state just north of here (although I don’t think any place is really “free” anymore). Connections in VT and ME as well. Hope that’s good enough, but at least I am with like minded folks. Keep kickin’ our rears… I “heard” you a while back and am now in better shape for doing so. Continued blessings for your care and concern.

  2. Loose your head? Lose your head? What’s the difference? Especially to a man who is supposed to have been an educator. Shane on you, sir!

    • Hi JW,
      I stand corrected and doubly chastised. And, thank you for the Supposedly in that last phrase. I’m not sure any young people learned anything from me in any of those classes. My biggest problem is my hands are very large and I have suffered nerve damage in them as a result of Agent Orange. Couple that with the bad habit of looking at the keys when i type and you can see how I make so many spelling errors.

  3. Welcome back sir, you were missed. I come to your site about once a week to check on you. Of course what you write is so true. I have two boys and trouble was always imminent as you know with two boys. I always taught them to plan ahead and think about how to deal with different situations. One of the lessons was dealing with the police. I taught them and made them think about good judgment. I explained that if you do or say the wrong thing you will get the trouble you are asking for. Be respectful and calm, above all be CALM! Then one day they were hanging with friends at a movie theater and a riot broke out and they were corralled with many others. They remembered what they were taught and were released while many others who became hostile were arrested. CC, your teachings should be applied to all aspects of life, and we will pray that what we fear never happens but be ready if it does.

  4. THNX for the Common Sense 10 Tips. …I haven’t posted on my blog in quite a while…busy making Fiat to turn into silver / gold. I finally have cached certain ‘supplies’, I use a pilot’s VFR chart to mark locations…will work well when the SHTF and power / satellites are down.
    You are Swearingen.
    Missing our chats, I know you are busy….me too.
    I am still holding down the fort in Nashboro.

    People -WAKE PEOPLE UP!
    PP

  5. Nice Article. It is good to review being prepared for the unthinkable. I really need to talk to my kids and try to explain things to them without freaking them out too much. Keep up the good advice.

  6. ***The Amish, Mennonites and Hutterites are pacifist, much like the Quakers.***

    I am a Kentucky resident and you are so very wrong about Mennonites and Amish.
    My husband is working with a Mennonite now and we learned this—they know more about the Muslim Obama than most of my husband’s acquaintances.
    Amish sold us a HMR 17.
    They will protect their own here.

    • Hi JayJay,
      There are 2 types of Amish, old order and new order, sometimes called old world and new world. The old order are the traditionalist (Called PLain Folk or Plain People) and the new order are not. The Mennonites are more worldly than the Amish. The new order Amish are very similar to the Mennonites. But as far as their overall belief they are pacifists. What each individual does or believes is very different. Historically speaking they refused to fight the Duke of Savoy when oppressed. Unfortunately, the Amish are experiencing an explosion in drug addiction and usage and as difficult as it is to believe there is even a problem with prostitution in some areas. No matter how hard you try to isolate yourself you will have dependencies. It is those dependencies that cause the biggest problems. The first time I saw a laser leveling grading system on a 100+ horsepower John Deere tractor belonged to a group of Amishmen from Ohio, near Steubenville. This was in 1981. They were new order Amish and believed it was okay because of a technicality. If I remember correctly a corporation owned the equipment rather than the Amishmen, so in their eyes it was okay. Traditionalist don’t generally use such techniques to circumvent their Ordnungs. But times do change. I can also say that I have seen Buddhist monks swat flies and step on ants when they thought or did not care that someone was watching but as a general rule this is not condoned by most branches of Buddhism. So go figure. Also, I never said that the Mennonites, Amish or Hutterites were ignorant or uninformed. As a general rule they are very well informed but usually do not take part in most things political. But once again that depends on their Ordnungs or individual beliefs.

      CC

Leave a Reply

