Housekeeping

Several of you have asked for an opportunity to contact me directly, in case you have personal data you want to share or don’t want me to look like a total fool, so I have added an account just for your personal questions. IF you have a general comment, please leave it on the appropriate article’s comment site. I try to answer a lot of these questions and comments. Sometimes I wait to see what the overall feedback numbers are and address as many questions or comments in as few comments as possible.

countrycodger@ymail.com

I have other housekeeping issues that I will address in the coming days, weeks or months. Von and I are still canning greens and maybe, tonight, we will can mushrooms. These are commercial mushrooms not wild. I do not advocate canning WILD mushrooms. I get a great deal on mushrooms and we put them in pints. I will post a few pictures so you can see our successes and maybe BOO BOO’s.

Remember, if you want Von or I to address any particular issue just send us your questions or concerns and we will try to help or refer you to someone who can.

Currently working on an article and hope to have it out in the next day or two, depending on our canning schedule.

Good luck and God bless you and yours.

7 thoughts on “Housekeeping

  1. In regards to wild mushrooms, I’ve found that freezing them works the best for me.

    http://wildcookery.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/how-to-properly-freeze-fresh-wild-mushrooms/

    Not exactly an ‘off the grid’ solution, however.

    If you’d like something a bit more storable, you can also slice some varieties thin and put them in a dehydrator, which works with varying measures of success. Boletus (any edible variety) dry out very well, and any time you are likely to find them in the store, they will probably be dried.

    Dryad saddle (Polyporus squamosus) does NOT dry out well for later culinary use. Unless you have a particular fondness for shoe leather. Though I have dried them out before and ground them up to powder in a hand grinder and added them to soup stock for a very tasty addition. Just don’t try to eat them any other way, or you’ll have visions of rawhide dancing in your head.

    I’ve never dried out oyster mushrooms. I’ve not had a great enough quantity to do so yet, and they’re just so darn GOOD fresh or frozen! 🙂

    I will be very interested to see the results of your canning of the commercial fresh mushrooms though. I’ve never canned any. (Heck, I haven’t canned anything yet, but I do finally have the equipment for it, pressure canner, etc, and shall be doing so this year!)

  2. Sometimes, I think I’m busier canning at this time of year than I am at harvest time! I do the preliminaries on the venison my husband brings home during hunting season, then put it all in the freezer, so I can do it all up now (after the holidays, and their aftermath, are done). Stores run sales on cheese right now, so I can that all up, along with the butter, ham, turkey and chicken I bought over the holidays. Now is also the time to dehydrate all the frozen veggies I get at bargain prices, and can sale bacon, if I can get it cheap enough. Thankfully, I enjoy it, and consider it my contribution to my families well being!
    Hope you get a free moment soon, CC!

    • Hi Cindi,

      Have you tried dipping cheese in wax? It will last about 20 years if kept dry and cool. Our house is on stilts and the average humidity is about 10% (this is in NM, not Texas.) We store a lot of stuff under the house because the conditions are ideal.

      • How does canning cheese work. Is it like canning butter? Dipping cheese? Really. Where is the best place to buy round cheese? or can I buy cheese already in wax round and expect it to last? Seems like all store cheese is in the cooler/freig at the store.

        Can I store cheese in wax under the bed ok? our area gets moldy and musty – lots of leaks.

      • I tried the dipping first – lost some, the rest was pretty close to being yucky. I think it was a combo of me being skimpy with the wax, and having no good, low humidity place to store it long term. Decided canning was our best option where we live (fairly drastic temperature/humidity changes throughout the year).

    • Hi Tess,

      I can safely say that Von is up for anything from combat shooting to canning and gardening. Don’t forget she is also a Corrections Officer and has studied Karate in the past. She is a Master Gardener and I used to teach Master Gardeners. Von has a considerable collection of recipes including some of my grandmothers’ and she studies under the tutelage of my mother every chance she gets. Most everything she cooks is from scratch and usually is a recipe filed away in her head. She has been expanding her recipe files as of late though. She hates to type, so I’ll probaly take dictation, even though she went to business school and was a licensed teacher. She hates computers and usually only goes to e-bay; If you want some killer jelly recipes she is the source. I can everything but jellies, jams and bread and buter pickles. I hate sweet stuff. Between her sisters (she has 6 of them) and her many friends that preserve the harvest she has a great repertoire of recipes. She is truly awesome in my book and a hottie to boot.

Leave a Reply

