Catching Up Is Hard to Do!

I want to thank everyone for being so patient. I have tried to catch up on emails, Honey-do’s, work (which I really enjoy but I call it work so everyone will feel sorry for me) and have had a couple of small setbacks, but we’ll work around them somehow.

I have the great pleasure of announcing that our very own April Patel has

April's ebook cover.

written and published her own ebook. As many of you know I spend a lot of time in the kitchen. I think it has something to do with our Cajun heritage. Most Cajun men are proud of the culinary skills even if they don’t know what the words mean. In going through April’s book I want to say that from the practical point of view, the recipes are very straightforward and simple to follow. If you are looking for a recipe for a foolproof recipe for baked Alaska you might want to try to Google it. The recipes contained in this ebook are good, wholesome nutritious foods. I have only had time to try one and that is the Creamy Asparagus Soup. Von and I grow our own stands of wild asparagus and this is my kind of food. I think April told me that the price was $5.99. Here is April’s site: http://anappleadaywisdom.com/ . I cannot remember exactly how much, but April said that she has lost a lot of weight by following the recipes in this book. Also, many of these recipes are building blocks that can be used for creating an even larger meal. I think you will enjoy it.

EVERYONE PLEASE TAKE NOTE!! Several of you have expressed a desire, real or imagined I don’t know, to learn Hebrew. I can help you with that dream if it is something you truly want to accomplish and commit to. A very good friend of mine is a Hebrew scholar and a she is a wonderful person to be around as well. If you want to learn Hebrew please let me know in the next two weeks, say Not Later Than April 30th, 2012. Naomi and Donna are accomplished Hebrew scholars and have taught individuals for pesonal edification, religious training, and for other reasons, how to read and/or speak Hebrew. If you wish to be a part of this please let me know, if you want to learn to read Hebrew, speak Hebrew or both? Naomi and her co-pastor Sister Donna have sat down with Von and I and studied the Scriptures into the wee hours of the morning. Both Naomi and Donna possess an energy that is contagious. This will be an interactive online course or you will be able to use a telephone if this is going to be a speaking only course. It is up to you but I must say, majority rules for simplicity’s sake. Let me know.

For those of you who have never heard of poke salad, also known as poke

Poke salad.

salat or poke weed, I have included this photo. This is a plant in its prime. I find the flavor of poke salad to almost have a buttery nature and is an excellent green to mix with other greens such as turnip greens, mustard greens, collard greens and also Swiss Chard. You must make sure that there is no RED coloration to the stems and leaves before you harvest this plant.

Next, is a photo of a mistake that I made in the last couple of days while

This is a delicious mistake. Since it has very little water in the jar we will eat it first.

canning. I had too many things happening simultaneously and missed the fact that my pressure went too high on my canner. The jar on the upper left is perfect. Three fourths full of greens and the rest is water. The upper middle jar has water but not enough to cover all the greens and the jar on the right has very little moisture. We will use these greens first. It will not affect the flavor if kept out of direct sunlight for at least 6 months, maybe longer. As you can see, we try to have enough jars of any item to have one item per week for a year. No matter how many times, or years, you have canned foods you must be aware of everything going on in the kitchen at all times. I was trying to do too much too fast. My bad.

For those of you who have asked lately, please look at the upper left hand margin of the site. You will see this posted just below the Codgerville header: A new perspective on Survival, Preparedness, Civil War II, Economic Collapse and other major events awaiting the modern world in 2012 and beyond! Please focus on the last three terms in the statement: 2012 and BEYOND.

No! I do not believe the world will end in 2012. I do believe that 2012 will be the key year for certain things to happen that will dramatically affect not only our nation but the world as a whole. Please, do not feel that if you do not finish your preparations by the end of 2012 that it will be the end of the world. I do believe that if we do not make significant progress on our preparations by the end of 2012 that you may not be able to afford further goods, will not be able to find more goods or restricted by the government from buying certain goods. As I have said in the past, if you do not complete your preparations it may be all but impossible to do so after November of 2012.

Next, I am not psychic nor call the psychic hotline or anything else. What I try to do is extrapolate data based on what I have seen happen in other countries shortly before, during and after they fell. I will not complain nor will I be too proud to admit how relieved I will be if none of this comes to pass. I just don’t want to be scrambling at the last minute trying to find something, anything that I can use to try and keep my family alive and out of the clutches of our tyrannical government.

Next, for those of you handy in the garden, I have included a picture of garlic with the SCAPE beginning to initiate. Scapes are nothing more than the central spike that will become the flower. The importance of the scape is that the plant diverts a tremendous amount of energy into producing the scape. If you will simply pinch off the large portion on the central stalk then the bulb will become 15-25% larger than if you let the plant produce a flower. I will add some things in the next artcle. I have been very busy and catching up is a very difficult thing to do.

Please be patient and I will try to relay to you some of the things we are watching as a family. God bless you and your family in 2012.

4 thoughts on “Catching Up Is Hard to Do!

    • Hi Ray,

      Thanks for stopping by Codgerville. What we do is blanch the poke salad until it is limp in order to pack the jar. Pressure can following the USDA instructions for greens. then when we are ready to eat the poke salad we pour off the juice, put the greens in a sauce pan with fresh water that has been boiled with a piece of “fat” meat. (I prefer bacon or a piece of ham) Then all you have to do is just heat up the greens in the boiled water. Now, some of my friends andone of my mentors like to cut the stalks and fry them just like you would fried okra. My best friend heats his greens and while the water is still boiling adds a couple of eggs and stirs the eggs into the water until they are cooked. I was a little dubious of this but at first but after I tried it I was very impressed with the flavor.

  1. Kol HaKvod on the initiative to learn Hebrew. If you guys are interested in a bi-monthly magazine dedicated to Biblical Hebrew and all its facets, I recommend you check out Biblical Hebrew magazine (http://www.hebrewtoday.com/content/biblical-hebrew-magazine-cd). I have helped compile/translate some parts and it has a lot to offer any amateur Biblical Hebrew scholar. Also, I guess I’m new to the blog and don’t fully understand all the context, but what was the connection between poke salad and learning Hebrew? Thanks!

    • Hello H.E.,
      There is no connection between Hebrew and poke salad. I was catching up on the various things that have been sent my way. Some folks wanted to know about poke salad and some folks expressed a desire, real or imagined, to study Hebrew. Since this was a “catch-up” article i just combined the several thoughts together. (Menagerie). Shalom Alik.

Leave a Reply

